The Chakras

The term chakra originates from sanskrit and means wheel or circle. According to the millennia-old Indian teachings, our body is permeated by subtle energy flows, the nadis. The nadis cross at certain points in the body, forming nodal points and thus energetic centres - the so-called chakras.

In our body, there are 7 main chakras, which form the energetic centres. They are arranged along the spine. Each of these 7 main chakras supplies certain organs and mental processes with energy. The chakras thus represent the whole spectrum of our life themes. In addition to the main chakras, there are thousands of other chakras.

The better the energy flows through the chakras, the healthier (physically and mentally) we feel. If chakras are blocked or unbalanced, the energy flow is impaired - similar to a congestion in a river. This disturbance leads to blockages not only in the physical body, but also in our mental and spiritual condition.


The chakras are in constant circular motion and vibrate in assigned colours depending on the energy range. The crown chakra, for example, reflects violet because this colour has the shortest wavelength, while the root chakra reflects the colour red which has the longest wavelength and is the lowest colour in the colour spectrum. The lower chakras correspond to the physical body and emotions and vibrate more slowly. The upper chakras vibrate higher and are associated with spiritual abilities. 

The following graphic gives an overview of the 7 main chakras and their connection to body and soul.

Balace your energy
Food for the soul
  • Instagram